Economic Development Division Holzheimer Memorial Student Scholarship

Deadline: February 2, 2018

Master's level students enrolled in or recently graduated (2016 or later) from PAB-accredited planning programs in the United States are encouraged to apply for the 2018 Holzheimer Memorial Student Scholarship for Economic Development Planning. The $2,000 scholarship is awarded by the Economic Development Division in memory of longtime APA member and economic development visionary, Terry F. Holzheimer, FAICP, PhD, of Arlington County, Virginia, and Virginia Tech.

Submittal Requirements

A completed application is due by February 2, 2018 (early submissions are encouraged) and consists of the following:

  • An original student paper or work that is 2,500 words or less (including citations and footnotes), with the name and contact information of a faculty member involved in supervising the student and/or the submitted work
  • Completed application form

Paper Guidelines

Due to the word limit, submissions may reflect adaptations of original student work, including term papers, capstone and studio projects. Group submissions are allowed, although it is expected that one or two students will take responsibility for the submission and represent the group should the submission be chosen as the winner. If a group submission, all group members must be graduate planning students or APA student/early career members; exceptions for non-planning student co-authors may be granted at the discretion of the scholarship committee.

The submission should speak to planning practitioners about a substantive topic related to economic development in the United States. We welcome submissions that focus broadly on the topic of economic development, which we define in terms of enhancing community, urban and regional economic prosperity, inclusion and resilience.

The winning paper or project will satisfactorily demonstrate the following: topical relevance to economic development practitioners with a clear discussion of why practitioners should care about the findings; soundness of empirical methods; quality writing; and originality and creativity.

The committee reserves the right to withhold the award should no submissions comply with these criteria.

Award Notification

The winner will be notified by February 23, 2018 and the scholarship will be presented at the National Planning Conference in New Orleans, April 21-24, 2018. Winners are strongly encouraged, but not required, to use the award money to support attendance at the conference.

The paper will also be published on the Economic Development Division website and distributed electronically to division members in the News & Views newsletter.


Greg Schrock, Committee Chair
Associate Professor
Toulan School of Urban Studies and Planning
Portland State University

Previous Winners

List of previous award winners