International Division Awards

Deadline: March 25, 2019

APA's International Planning Division invites nominations for its 2019 International Planning Excellence Awards, which recognize five categories of outstanding individuals and projects.

The categories are:

  • Grand Award for Community and Regional Planning / Jane Jacobs Award
  • Grand Award for Transportation Planning / William Whyte Award
  • Grand Award for Urban Design / Kevin Lynch Award
  • Grand Award for Environmental Planning / Ian McHarg Award
  • Exemplary Student Project Award

Nomination Procedures

All nominators must complete the International Planning Excellence Award Application Form and email it with required attachments to with the subject line "International Planning Excellence Award."

Awards Criteria

Read the full description of awards, submission information and criteria.


Questions related to the award or application submission should be emailed to Jing Zhang, AICP, at with the subject line "Planning Award Inquiry."