The AICP Commission is the eight-member governing body of the American Institute of Certified Planners. Members include a President, a President-Elect or an Immediate Past President, and six Commissioners. They serve four-year terms. Terms are staggered, so three commissioners are elected biennially. Day-to-day operations are managed by APA staff. The APA Executive Director and CEO also serves as AICP Executive Director.

AICP Commission: (left to right) Deborah Lawlor, FAICP; Glenn Larson, AICP; Karen Wolf, FAICP; Marissa Aho, AICP; Justin Moore, AICP; Ben Carlisle, AICP; Denise Harris, AICP; Silvia Vargas, AICP.

Meet the Commission

AICP Commission Member Biographies


AICP Committees and Task Forces

If you would like more information about any of these committees or workgroups, or would like a current roster, please email

  • AICP Commission Executive Committee
  • AICP Community Assistance Planning Services (CAPS) Committee
  • College of Fellows Committee
  • Ethics Committee
  • Exam Committee
  • National Membership Standards Committee
  • Student Project Awards Jury