APA's National Planning Awards honor planning efforts, initiatives, and individuals working to make communities of lasting value for all. Award recipients are celebrated annually during a special ceremony.

2021 National Planning Award Nominations

The nomination window for the 2021 National Planning Awards is now closed.

Nominators will be notified in April on the status of their nominatnion. For questions, please email awards@planning.org.

All award nominations must be submitted through the online nomination portal. Access to the portal will be available only when the nomination window is open. Follow these steps to prepare and submit your award nomination:

  1. See what is eligible to nominate

  2. Review the categories and criteria

  3. Learn what is required for your nomination

Tips for Nominating

Hear from former Awards Jury Chair W. Shedrick Coleman, AIA, on how to assemble a successful awards nomination.

For more than 50 years, APA's National Planning Awards program has honored outstanding efforts in planning and planning leadership.

View Previous Award Recipients


Email questions about submitting a nomination to awards@planning.org.