APA Elections

APA needs talented individuals who will help drive its strategy and future initiatives. Our goal is to build an exceptional and dedicated national leadership, to develop new and emerging leaders at all levels of APA, and ultimately make the profession and organization better. But we can only accomplish this by engaging the commitment of a diverse group of people who are willing to listen to many different perspectives, contribute their insights, and work together as a team.

The call to nominations was open from March 15 to May 15. Balloting will take place from July 19-August 20, 2021. The new leaders will assume office January 1, 2022.

APA Board and AICP Commission Elections

Election Resources

2021 Election Policies and Procedures

APA Electorial Regions


Chapter, Division, and Student Elections

Every year, APA members run for elected Leadership positions within three component groups: Chapters, Divisions, and the Student Representatives Council. Serving as an elected Leader offers a tremendous opportunity for members to sharpen their skills, expand their networks, and work directly to strengthen the impact of the organization.

Details about APA Chapter, Division and Student elections:

Chapter, Division, and Student Elections


2021 Election Timeline

March 15 Begin the Call for Nominations
May 15 Firm deadline for the Call for Nominations
July 19 Ballots available online for all eligible voting members
August 20 Ballots close
Late August Election results are certified and announced
January 1, 2022 Successful candidates begin term of office