News Release: October 8, 2020

Seven Students Receive Scholarships to Advance Planning Studies

CHICAGO (October 8, 2020) — Seven aspiring planning students have earned scholarships from the American Planning Association Foundation. The scholarships help make planning education more accessible, attract the most talented individuals to the profession, and work toward making the profession more diverse.

Each of this year’s scholarship recipients is inspired by their own experiences and desire to create stronger futures for their communities through equity, environmental stewardship, and economic development.

This year’s recipients are:

Charles Abrams Scholarship

Sharon Velasquez, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

APA Foundation Scholarship

Andriani Atmadja, Harvard University
Shekhar Chandra, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cecley Hill, Harvard University
Amal Muse, University of Minnesota
Whytne Stevens, Harvard University
Marius Williams, Rutgers University

The APA Foundation is committed to helping bridge gaps in planning education and making the profession more representative of the communities planners work in. Since 2015, the APA Foundation has awarded $113,000 in scholarships to deserving planning students.


The American Planning Association is an independent, not-for-profit educational organization that provides vital leadership in creating great communities for all. APA and its professional institute, the American Institute of Certified Planners, are dedicated to advancing the profession of planning, offering better choices for where and how people work and live. The more than 40,000 APA members work in concert with community residents, civic leaders, and business interests to create communities that enrich people's lives. Through its philanthropic work, APA’s Foundation helps to reduce economic and social barriers to good planning. APA has offices in Washington, D.C., and Chicago. Learn more at

# # #


Roberta Rewers, APA, 312-786-6395;

October 8, 2020