Excellence in Sustainability Awards

Fifth Annual Awards for Excellence in Sustainability

Deadline: January 19, 2018

The American Planning Association Sustainable Communities Division is happy to announce that the nomination process is now open for the Fifth Annual Awards for Excellence in Sustainability!

The Awards for Excellence in Sustainability is an annual program that honors projects, plans, policies, individuals, and organizations dedicated to supporting sustainable communities. Each year, the award winners are announced during the annual National Planning Conference.

The deadline for submission is January 19, 2018, at 8:00 PM EST. An information packet, including important submission instructions and forms, can be downloaded at 2018 Awards Information Packet.

If you'd like a reminder about the rewards, please sign up for the e-Bulletin.

2017 Winners

Sustainability or Resilience Plan or Project

Millvale EcoDistrict Pivot Plan — evolveEA

Millvale, Pennsylvania

Sustainable Urban Design Plan or Development Project

South Central Waterfront Vision Framework Plan — City of Austin Planning and Zoning Department Urban Design Division

Austin, Texas

Sustainable Transportation Project

Kansas City Downtown Streetcar — HDR

Kansas City, Missouri

Sustainable Park, Recreation, or Open Space Project

Lindsay Street Park — The Conservation Fund

Atlanta, Georgia

Leadership in Sustainability

Maryland Sustainable Communities Program — Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development Division of Neighborhood Revitalization

Baltimore, Maryland

Previous Winners

Previous Sustainability Awards winners