Planning Management Learning Circles

Dive into networking events centered around topics in planning management.

APA provides a forum for planning managers to share ideas, challenges, and solutions. This event, facilitated by APA Career Services, will be a place to learn, share, and contribute to the conversations shaping the business of planning.

Upcoming Learning Circle Events

Reflective Practice Learning Circle

Friday, October 14 — 2 p.m. EST | 1 p.m. CST | Noon MST | 11 a.m. PST

Register

Participate in a guided reflection activity that offers opportunities to address questions you are facing in your practice, whether the effectiveness of planning solutions, change-making strategies, AICP ethics issues, engagement with politics and community, and/or office dynamics.

Anchoring your work in reflection supports professional effectiveness because planning idealism naturally encounters impediments in daily practice. Discussing your choices with others offers insight, affirmation, and new practice strategies. The learning circle includes a presentation of techniques for reflection, feedback from small-group breakouts, and discussions about how to keep the conversations going. No cost.

Hosted by Rick Willson, FAICP

Blog post: Reflection Reset: Pathways to Effective Practice


Past Learning Circle Events

Getting Started with EDI in Your Office

Getting Started with EDI in Your Office; the first of three blog posts from the session.

The Road to FAICP

View the presentation from Zoom

Download the Q&A

Creating a Planning Department Value Proposition

5 Ways to Boost Your Planning Department's Profile Read a Planning article of takeaways from the Learning Circle.

2020 The Year in Review: A Planning Supervisors' Discussion on WTH Just Happened!

Facilitator Aimee Nassif, AICP shares some key takeaways and ideas you can implement into your workday from the discussion in a blog post; 2020 The Year in Review: A Planning Manager's Perspective.


If you want to learn about the findings from the event, contact CareerServices@planning.org.